User Tag List

Thread: Thyroid, Thyroxine side effects and yoga

Junior Member Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience Points

Country
    United States

Thyroid, Thyroxine side effects and yoga

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to being treated for hypothyroidism as I was diagnosed this past April. Began levothyroxine at 25 mcg and felt like I was on speed. I had heart palpitations, massive headaches, legs felt swollen and a few other things, so my NP told me to split the pill in 1/2 and in 6-8 weeks I'd most likely go up to the original dose prescribed of 25 mcg. I did that and didn't feel the crazy side effects after, but I did feel some side effects initially. They were more tolerable and after about 2 weeks they subsided and I found myself feeling better and mentally sharper. Almost to the day though, 8 weeks later I found myself feeling exhausted, and I had brain fog worse than before I ever started the meds. So I went up to 25 mcg almost 2 weeks ago. Brain fog is gone, and I can tell I'm on a higher dose. I am experiencing side effects that are a bit different this time. First round I felt energetic. This time I felt that the first few days, however, i seem to feel some fatigue and depression now. Last time my mood was not the greatest, but it was not such a clear feeling of depression. I'm thinking in a few weeks I'll be leveled out hopefully, but currently it seems as though it is a struggle between the lesser of 2 evils. I wish I had tried yoga and supplements before I started taking levothyroxine because I have found thyroid specific yoga exercises that are capable of balancing throid function if one commits to doing them daily for at least 40 days. Now I fear what I would feel like if I decided to try that route and get off meds because the last bout of brain fog was so intense I missed a day of work because I felt so mentally inept. I feel kind of trapped, because I'll be returning to college in late august and feel its very important that I have