User Tag List

Thread: Need Post-op information

Need Post-op information

HI,

My daughter-in-law will very soon have half her thyroid and nodes removed and, if a malignancy is found, then the other half will be removed.

She has a 10-month old baby.

I am going to them (I live in Canada and they live in the US) to help the family. I have lots of experience with cancer, but not thyroid conditions.

Is there anyone who can help me out by letting me know what I can possibly expect after the operation, when she comes home, etc. so I can give the family the best possible support.

My son is a General Manager in a restaurant and, as such, works irregular shifts. The baby is in daycare.

What will my daughter-in-law need when she comes home?
    What will she not be able to do that I can help with?
    What can I tell my son about the long-term prognosis for his wife?

That's the kind of information I need, practical, every day, long-term ...

so much,

Diane

Administrator Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesCreated Blog entryTagger First ClassOverdriveSocial25000 Experience Points

Country
    UK
    Blog Entries

Re: Need Post-op information

Hello Diane and

Being a guy, I wouldnt be able to help you much but I can surely tell you my experience with thyroid.

Bear in mind, all thyroid patient cases are different hence treatment for one, not necessarily will work for other in terms of exact dosage.

I have been overactive for 5 years and then decided to go with Radioactive Iodine Therapy, which is not exactly surgery but the purpose is the same, removal of thyroid. RAI partially/completely destroys the thyroid gland. When it comes to surgery, normally doctors try to remove part of thyroid so patient will have little bit left to produce hormones but in cases of cancer, it is totally unlikely.