User Tag List

Thread: Hi,another newbie here!

Junior Member Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

Hi,another newbie here!

Hiya,I have stumbled across this forum while trawling through my normal forum,and it's great to find something like this.

I was diagnosed with an underactive thyroid about 4 years ago,it was my pharmacist who said it was probably thyroid,when I asked him if he thought I should take iron for my tiredness,but when I added hair loss,rough skin etc he said go for a blood test.I ve been tested before as I'm overweight and it'd always come back normal,so I was very surprised that at the age of 37 I had thyroid trouble.It took 2 years for my doctor to get me nicely balanced on thyroxine.

This time last year I had a relapse but of course I didn't put 2&2 together until I was really bad again.I kept complaining to friends how tired I was and they all kept telling me they felt the same and it was the 'Christmas' rush...I had managed to loose 4 stone during the year,through exercise and sensible eating,and an awful lot of it flew back on during my 'dip',even though my diet was still reasonably ok.That I think was the most disheartening bit.I have only managed to loose a stone since,as I don't have the same mental determination...

By the time my regular blood test came up in Jan,the doc asked me in disbelief if I'd not noticed the symptoms return,well of course it all clicked then and I felt such a fool!lol.
    I am more or less back to 'balanced',and I truly appreciate having a good doctor who makes time to explain my blood results each time,I had a different doctor this last blood test,and he was completely different and explained nothing,just said it was 'satisfactory'.So I shall make sure I get the good doctor next blood test...