User Tag List

Thread: TSH supression.

Junior Member Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

Country
    UK

TSH supression.

Hello, I'm new here and would like to ask some questions on results as you seem a knowledgable bunch!

I was diagnosed with multifocal papillary thyroid carcinoma (a long word for cancer) and had a full thyroidectomy and radiactive iodine ablation.

My doctors never tell me very much and always have a room full of patients which makes me feel guilty if I ask too many questions.

I am told my TSH should be supressed to avoid recurrence of the cancer. Right now I'm on 175mcg of thyroxine and my THS 1.57 and T4 207. What range does "supressed" fall into? Lower than that surely (to me 0 it would seem but I'm no expert).

I also have other results on Thyroglobulin and Thyroglobulin antibodies, are they something they test to establish presence/absence of cancer cells?

Many thanks for reading and hopefully answering.
    Jo

Administrator Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesCreated Blog entryTagger First ClassOverdriveSocial25000 Experience Points

Country
    UK
    Blog Entries

Re: TSH supression.

Hello Jo and welcome to the forums.

You didn't say how are you feeling after going through all this? Do you feel any better after removal of thyroid and now being on thyroxine?

Just to answer your questions Re - thyroglobulin